ASEAN Australia New Zealand

​The Agreement Establishing the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) was signed in Thailand, on 27 February 2009 and amended under the First Protocol by Ministers on 26 August 2014. The First Protocol entered into force for Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam on 1 October 2015. Indonesia and Cambodia intend to have the First Protocol enter into force on 1 January 2016.

The full text of the AANZFTA, including Schedules, AANZFTA Fact Sheets, a Guide to the Chapters of the Agreement and a Background to Negotiations can be viewed on the DFAT website. Additionally, DFAT has published a document titled 'Guide to Business: Using the First Protocol' to help exporters and importers to make full use of AANZFTA. It contains practical advice on how to find tariff commitments and Rules of Origin (ROO) requirements for individual products. More information is available on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.

Australian Customs and Border Protection Notices
Practice Statement and associated documents
Product specific rules​
Claiming preference under the Integrated Cargo System (ICS)

Preference Scheme Type

TypeDescription of Preference Scheme Scheme Abbreviation
AANZASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement AANZFTA

Preference Rule Types

Rule Type Description of Preference Rule Type
CTHChange in tariff heading ('General Rule' goods only)
PEProduced entirely from originating materials
PSRProduct specific rules
RVCRegional value content ('General Rule' goods only)
WOWholly obtained goods
Certificate of origin (CO)
AANZFTA Certificate of origin issuing authorities/bodies

Change of Issuing Authority for Lao PDR

From 1 July 2012, the Lao National Chamber of Commerce and Industry will be the authorised body for issuing AANZFTA Certificate of Origin for Lao PDR.

For Certificates of Origin issued by the Ministry of Industry and Commerce in Lao PDR prior to 1 July 2012, they are valid for 12 months in accordance with the Operational Certification Procedures in AANZFTA.

Origin Rulings