Forum Island (Including Fiji)

The South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Co-operation Agreement (SPARTECA) is a nonreciprocal trade agreement under which Australia and New Zealand offer duty free or concessional access to most products originating in Forum Island Countries (FICs).

SPARTECA came into effect for most FICs from 1 January, 1981. However, with the joining of new members, the current FIC signatories to SPARTECA includes Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Western Samoa.

SPARTECA includes provisions for general economic, commercial and technical co-operation, safeguard provisions relating to dumped and subsidised goods, suspension of obligations, and provisions for general exceptions and duties. SPARTECA also provides for special treatment and assistance to be extended to the Smaller Island Countries (SICs) viz Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Tonga, Tuvalu and Western Samoa.

The SPARTECA Textile, Clothing and Footwear Scheme (SPARTECA-TCF) will expire on 31 December 2014.

Further information on SPARTECA is available via the following links:

Australian Customs Notices
  • Customs Act 1901, Division 1A of Part VIII - Rules of origin of preference claim goods
Practice Statement and Associated Documents
Claiming preference under the Integrated Cargo System (ICS)